Quick answer: Start with the iPhone 15 for everyday camera flexibility, then compare the features you need. The old $385 16e, $469 15 Pro 128GB and $489 15 Pro 512GB offers are sold. Use the remaining dated examples only to frame a freshly qualified purchase.
Those are starting points, not a reason to accept any listing. Battery condition, repair disclosures and return terms can change which phone is worth buying.
Our verdict: Choose the least expensive eligible phone that meets your needs and leaves room for necessary costs. An older Pro makes sense when you will use its advantages and the individual unit still represents good value.
This guide covers US unlocked iPhones bought outright. “Under $500” means the phone, mandatory buyer fees and standard shipping before sales tax. Battery service and necessary accessories are separate costs unless you need $500 to cover everything.
Research-based buying guide. Offer observations dated October 15, 2026. Battery percentages and repair statements are seller reports, not FlawCheck measurements. We have not physically tested these units. Prices and availability can change; confirm the selected configuration and final checkout.
Explore the wider iPhone buying cluster if you are still choosing between purchase categories.
Best Used iPhones Under $500 Compared
These are dated listing observations from October 15, 2026, with selected pages revisited October 16. The $385 iPhone 16e, $469 15 Pro 128GB and $489 15 Pro 512GB pages are marked SOLD and are excluded from the price comparison. The remaining examples are not a checkout or stock guarantee. Confirm the exact unit, price, shipping and terms before buying.
THE SHORTLIST · NO SCORES
Three dated examples. Different compromises.
| Model / storage | Offer | Seller | Battery | Returns / warranty | Best fit | Downside / pause |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 15128GB · A2846Unlocked US | $402Good · YellowView dated listing ↗ | 5C SolutionsSwappa · LAKS29984 | 85%Reported; general floor 80% | 30 days; seller-paid return shipping; no restocking fee advertisedSeparate warranty not stated | Everyday camera + MagSafe | Confirm battery; cable/adapter not promised |
| iPhone 15 Plus128GB · A2847Unlocked US | $403Good · PinkView dated listing ↗ | MidwestTechOutletSwappa · LAKZ58052 | 88%Reported | 14 days; remorse shipping + PayPal fees + $530-day warranty | A larger everyday screen | Return costs; no ProMotion |
| iPhone 14 Pro128GB · A2650Unlocked US | $361Good · BlackView dated listing ↗ | Top Tier ElectronicsSwappa · LAKG57218 | 80%Reported | Not-as-described protection; remorse window unstatedWarranty not stated | Cheaper Pro comparator | Assess battery and service costs |
Dated examples, not live inventory or average prices. The $385 16e, $469 15 Pro 128GB and $489 15 Pro 512GB listings are sold and excluded. Confirm configuration, stock, destination charges and terms. A high battery percentage cannot certify the whole phone.
The main table documents one observed offer per model, which limits seller-to-seller comparison. It is not a survey of every available unit.
These prices include the advertised standard shipping for eligible destinations. Swappa includes its buyer fee in the displayed listing price; do not add it twice. Destination surcharges and taxes can change checkout. Sources: Swappa fee explanation, listing-price calculation.
How we chose: First check whether the phone can be activated, used with your carrier and bought within budget. Then compare battery and repairs, total cost, seller protections and features you will actually use. The table identifies research candidates; unresolved conditions must be settled before purchase.
CHOOSE YOUR DIRECTION
What must the phone do for you?
Resolve activation, management, battery, repairs and returns before choosing a model.
CAMERA / PRO SCREEN
iPhone 15 Pro
Use ProMotion or the separate 3x camera.
Accept condition only after inspection.Explore this choice →02A BIGGER SCREEN
iPhone 15 Plus
Compare it with an older Pro Max.
Size and battery still need to fit.Explore this choice →03APPLE INTELLIGENCE
Compare the 16e
Eligible hardware, fewer camera options.
Check feature and language availability.Explore this choice →04SPEND LESS
Keep your budget
Start below $300 if your needs are met.
Do not spend $500 just because you can.Explore this choice →Need camera flexibility and MagSafe without Pro features? Start with the iPhone 15, then compare the actual unit.
iPhone 15: Our Starting Point for Everyday Buyers
The iPhone 15 combines a 6.1-inch OLED display, a main and ultrawide camera, USB-C and MagSafe. It does not provide the Pro models’ adaptive ProMotion display. Those differences make it a useful starting point for someone who wants a versatile everyday iPhone without needing every Pro feature. Source: Apple iPhone 15 specifications.
Choose it if camera flexibility and MagSafe accessories matter more than native Apple Intelligence. Apple’s current eligibility list includes the 15 Pro, but not the standard 15 or 15 Plus. Source: Apple Intelligence requirements.
The $402 offer is a Good-condition Yellow iPhone 15 from 5C Solutions. The listing reports 85% battery health, while the seller’s general addendum promises a minimum of 80%; confirm what applies to the supplied unit. It advertises 30-day returns, seller-paid return shipping and no remorse/restocking fee. No separate warranty duration was established. Budget for a cable or adapter if needed. Source: selected iPhone 15 listing.
Who should avoid it? Buyers who require native Apple Intelligence, a separate telephoto camera or ProMotion. Avoid any particular offer if its unit details or return terms remain unclear.
What changes the verdict? A better-condition alternative with clearer protections may justify a higher price. Conversely, paying more for the model name makes little sense if required repairs consume the saving.
iPhone 16e vs Used iPhone 15: Which Fits Your Priorities?
The 16e offers the A18 chip and Action button, with a single rear camera that also enables a sensor-based 2x view. It lacks an ultrawide camera and native MagSafe support. It supports Qi charging. Source: Apple iPhone 16e specifications.
Choose the 16e when eligible Apple Intelligence hardware matters more than the 15’s camera and accessory options. Avoid it when those options are central to your routine.
The historical $385 SaveGadget iPhone 16e listing reported 97% battery health, but the page was marked SOLD when revisited October 16. It is excluded from the comparison and budget table. A 16e recommendation now requires a fresh qualifying offer; that past percentage does not describe another unit. Sold listing.
The higher reported percentage does not establish longer runtime than every used iPhone 15. It also does not prove that the battery is new.
One less obvious limitation: Apple excludes the 16e from USB-C external-display support. Check this if connecting a monitor is part of your plan. Source: Apple’s USB-C compatibility guidance.
Is an Older Pro Better Than a Newer Base iPhone?
An older Pro can be the better fit when its extra functions matter more than a newer model name.
The 15 Pro offers adaptive ProMotion up to 120Hz, a separate 3x telephoto camera and macro photography. Its USB 3 transfer capability requires a suitable cable. Source: Apple iPhone 15 Pro specifications.
Choose it if you want those functions and can accept the individual phone’s condition. Avoid it if you would rarely use them, dislike visible wear or need a large repair cushion within $500.
The historical $469 Smartcellbuyback listing reported 86% battery health, deep scratches, 30-day returns and a 90-day warranty. It was marked SOLD when rechecked October 16 and is excluded from the shortlist and budget table. These seller disclosures do not qualify a replacement offer. Source: sold 15 Pro listing.
A different 15 Pro offer needs its own price, condition, repair-history and seller-term checks before it can be compared within a $500 budget.
When the iPhone 14 Pro Still Makes Sense
The 14 Pro retains ProMotion and a separate 3x telephoto camera, but uses Lightning. Source: Apple iPhone 14 Pro specifications.
At $361, the observed 128GB offer is $41 cheaper than the $402 iPhone 15 example. It reports 80% battery health, and the retrieved listing does not state a discretionary return window or warranty duration. Source: selected 14 Pro listing.
Choose it only when the Pro functions fit and the service-inclusive saving survives. Avoid it if you need USB-C or Apple Intelligence, or if battery needs and seller protections make the purchase unattractive.
If its additional necessary costs exceed the 15’s by $41, the sticker-price saving disappears. The two phones’ condition and features still need separate comparison.
Which Used iPhone Makes Sense for a Bigger Screen?
Start by comparing the 15 Plus with the 14 Pro Max.
The 15 Plus has a 6.7-inch OLED display and weighs 201 grams. The 14 Pro Max has a similarly sized screen, adds ProMotion and a separate telephoto camera, and weighs 240 grams. Sources: Apple 15 Plus specifications, 14 Pro Max specifications.
Choose the 15 Plus for a large screen when you do not need the older Pro’s functions. Avoid it if its size is uncomfortable or those functions are essential.
The $403 MidwestTechOutlet example reports 88% battery health and original parts with no repairs. It advertises a 30-day warranty. Its 14-day return policy charges shipping, PayPal fees and a $5 advertising fee for buyer-remorse returns. These are seller disclosures, not our inspection findings. Source: selected 15 Plus listing.
Choose the 14 Pro Max if its Pro functions outweigh the weight and ownership costs. Avoid it if you mainly want a large screen and its condition offers no advantage.
The $407 Superbdeals.tech offer is outside our release shortlist: the seller copy gives conflicting 80% and 81% minimum battery thresholds. It also advertises a 10% remorse restocking fee and a three-day reporting requirement for damage or an item not as described. Resolve the battery promise and terms before considering it. Source: selected 14 Pro Max listing.
The small price difference between these examples does not settle the decision. Battery disclosure and seller terms differ.
Should You Choose More Storage or a Newer Model?
Choose enough storage for the content you keep locally, then compare condition and cost.
128GB may fit a buyer who regularly manages photos and downloads. More capacity is worth considering when you retain large video libraries, games or offline media and do not want frequent cleanup. A newer model cannot solve a storage limit that already conflicts with your habits.
The historical 15 Pro 512GB listing from MNEGROUP LLC showed $489 and seller-reported 88% battery health, but was marked SOLD when revisited October 16. It is excluded from current purchase and budget suggestions. A replacement offer needs its own condition, repair-history and return checks.
The historical $469 and $489 examples came from different sellers and units; they do not establish a $20 storage-upgrade price. Both listings are sold. Compare newly qualified offers on the same total-cost basis.
Check current storage use on your existing phone, include room for your expected downloads, and compare the total purchase. Avoid a storage upgrade if it requires accepting unresolved repairs or terms you cannot use.
Do You Need to Spend the Full $500?
No. Spending more should solve a specific problem.
If a cheaper phone meets your needs, the remaining money can cover essentials or stay unspent. Start with our Best Used iPhone Under $300 guide if the newer models’ features do not matter to you.
The extra budget is useful when it buys a capability you need, a better individual unit or stronger purchase protections. It is less useful when it mainly buys a newer name with similar uncertainty.
All six models discussed here appear on Apple’s current iOS 27 compatibility list. That observation does not establish how many more years each will receive updates or how long an individual used unit will last. Source: Apple’s iOS compatibility list.
Our used iPhone lifespan guide explains the ownership checks beyond model age.
What Does a $500 Budget Actually Cover?
Separate the purchase subtotal from the cost of making the phone suitable for you.
Purchase subtotal: phone + mandatory shipping + mandatory buyer fees not already included.
Ownership total: purchase subtotal + necessary service + missing essentials + applicable taxes and service shipping.
If $500 must cover the phone and those extras before tax, the following allowances apply:
| Observed offer price | Extra costs must be below |
|---|---|
| $361 — 14 Pro | $139 |
| $402 — 15 | $98 | | $403 — 15 Plus | $97 |
These are spending limits, not battery replacement prices. Whether service is needed depends on the actual phone.
Get a dated quote for the exact model, market and service provider using Apple’s service estimator or the provider directly. Apple says inspection determines the final fee. Ask what tax, shipping and necessary extras are included. No model-specific numeric quote was established in this review.
Also consider arranging service, backing up the phone, shipping it and managing time without it. A cheap phone that needs immediate work may be a poor fit for someone who needs it ready now.
How Much Should Battery Health Influence the Choice?
Use the percentage alongside runtime, warning messages, repairs and peak-performance information. Apple describes maximum capacity relative to when the battery was new; it is not a remaining-life clock. Source: Apple battery and performance guidance.
| Reported Battery Health | Buying approach |
|---|---|
| 90–100% | Favorable starting point if reporting, function and terms also suit |
| 85–89% | Consider when actual runtime fits; leave room for future service |
| 80–84% | Assess runtime carefully and allow for service if needed |
| Below 80% | Obtain a service assessment and quote before treating it as a bargain |
| Unknown / minimum only | Confirm the promise and inspect promptly within the return window |
These are our decision groups, not certification grades. An 85% reading does not automatically require immediate replacement, and 100% does not prove a new battery.
For model-specific checks, see our used iPhone Battery Health guide.
Which Listings Should You Avoid?
Pause before paying: unresolved activation, management or essential hardware faults must be resolved before an offer earns a recommendation.
Skip or pause offers with unresolved ownership, activation, compatibility or essential hardware problems. Be particularly cautious when:
- The seller asks you to accept Activation Lock or a management bypass.
- Model, storage or carrier details conflict.
- A low price depends on a trade-in, carrier plan or financing.
- Battery information is missing and usable returns are unavailable.
- Repair labels or important faults cannot be explained.
- Return fees or reporting deadlines do not fit how you can inspect the delivery.
We kept a low-priced iPhone 16 offer outside the shortlist because its header and description named different models. The listing’s conflicting information needs resolution before it can support a recommendation.
We also excluded the observed Back Market 15 Pro configuration at $501. Being close to the limit does not make it under $500.
Used or Renewed: Which Makes More Sense?
The category name cannot settle the purchase.
Back Market advertises a minimum battery-health floor, free 30-day returns and a one-year warranty. An exact unit percentage and repair history still need separate disclosure. Source: Back Market US quality promise.
Apple Certified Refurbished is a separate program. Its full program terms and a qualifying sub-$500 offer were not established in this review. Compare the exact program, price and coverage directly rather than transferring another seller’s promises to it.
We checked Amazon Renewed and Premium product candidates but could not establish an active price–seller–availability combination for this shortlist. They are not treated as confirmed deals here.
Compare the actual seller, supplied unit and remedy if it disappoints. Our new vs used vs renewed comparison covers the purchase categories in more detail.
What to Check Before You Pay
Use this final check before choosing among the models:
- Complete activation. A Hello screen shows an erased phone, not completed activation. Do not buy with unresolved Activation Lock. Source: Apple’s preowned buying guidance.
- Verify carrier status and compatibility. Look for “No SIM restrictions” under Settings > General > About > Carrier Lock, then check the exact device with your intended carrier. Only the carrier can grant a carrier unlock. Source: Apple unlocking guidance.
- Check lost/stolen status separately. Use the actual identifier with a suitable checker and your intended carrier. A GSMA green result means not currently flagged on the GSMA Block List; it does not prove payoff, ownership, carrier unlock or absence of a carrier billing block. Reporting delays and later status changes remain possible. GSMA FAQ · GSMA terms.
- Check organization management. Complete online setup and inspect supervision notices and Settings > General > VPN & Device Management. If organization enrollment remains, require a legitimate resolution. Apple describes organization release followed by erase and restore; a reset alone is not that process. Sources: Apple supervision guidance, organization release.
- Inspect battery and repairs. On 15 models and later with iOS 17.4 or later, open Settings > Battery > Battery Health. On 14 models, use Battery Health & Charging. Check warning messages and Settings > General > About > Parts and Service History. Labels depend on model, software and part; Unknown is not automatically counterfeit, and a missing section does not prove no repairs. Sources: Apple battery information, parts history.
- Test essential functions and record the terms. Check Face ID, display/touch, cameras, charging, microphones and speakers. Keep the listing and return conditions, and inspect promptly after delivery. Source: Apple’s buying checks.
For the full sequence, use our used iPhone buying checklist.
